Posted by: storywriter45 | November 1, 2010

Nightmares

     Nightmares filled Ariel’s sleep as she tossed and turned on the sofa.  She woke feeling tense and stiff and rose up off the sofa.  Maybe I’ll sleep better in bed, she thought and headed for the king size bed covered with lush velvet like bedding.  She sighed and slowly drifted back to sleep.

     Nightmares continued to disturb her rest.  She was being chased by Mark in one of them. He chased her through the house and toward the beach, calling her. “Ariel. Ariel, wait. I have to talk to you!”

     And then, in  the next one, Joe would appear. “Come, Ariel,” he called to her.  “Come with me. I will protect you. Follow me down this path.  See, it’s  private. No one will find us here.  Hurry, before your ex-boyfriend catches up.  Hurry, Ariel, hurry before it is too late.”

     The nightmares woke her, but, she fell back to sleep feeling too tired to get up. The nightmares continued till she finally gave in and got up at lunch time.

     She looked the desk and dresser drawers looking for a menu. Surely this place has room service, she thought. Her stomach was growling. She hadn’t eaten much in the last few days and her stomach was not relenting.  I’ll have to find something to eat she said to herself and headed to the door.  Just across the walk there was a small restaurant that didn’t look very busy.

     “Well, I have to eat something,” she said out loud.

     “Hello,” a voice came from someone just a few feet away.

      Ariel jumped.

     “I didn’t mean to scare you,” the man said. “I was just heading to lunch myself. Would you like to join me?”

     “No, I don’t think so,” she answered.  “I came here to be by myself.”

    “Sorry, I didn’t mean to intrude,” the man gestured to her and  went on his way.

     Ariel stood there, second guessing herself.  Maybe I should have joined him, she thought.  It would be a good idea to get my mind off everything.

Leave a Reply

Categories

