Posted by: storywriter45 | October 26, 2010

Well, it seems as though I am awakening from a long sleep. My children’s book will be available shortly, and it’s back to writing my novel. So it’s, grab the lap top and off to my desk.  It’s so pleasant to have time to myself again.  I am enjoying the peace and quiet.  I do enjoy the distractions of the children, but, fall is sometimes a welcome relief.  Well back to Ariel and Mark.

They were sitting in the living room discussing the events of  the day.  Ariel couldn’t sleep, frightened by what had happened.

     “Joe, I think I would like to spend the day alone.  After breakfast, I think I will head into town and do a little shopping.  It will do me good to get away from  this place for a while.”

     “I’ll go with you. I just don’t want to leave you alone.”

     “No, Joe.  I need to spend the day alone.” She looked up at him trying to read  the expression in his face. She knew she wouldn’t be able to think clearly with him within a few feet from her.

     “What are you thinking,” he asked her. “You are staring right at me. Did I do something wrong?”

     “No, Joe. That’s not it . I just want some time alone. I will be fine shopping. There will be a lot of people around. You must have work to get to, right?”

     “I guess so,” he replied. “You call me if you need anything. You have my cell number.”

     “Of course, Joe,” Ariel stood up from the couch. “I’ll make us some breakfast so I can get an early start.”

     Ariel headed off to the kitchen, clumsily bumping into an end table set out a little from the recliner. “Now, how did that get there?”

     “Isn’t that where it has been all the time?”

     “Well, it’s been moved out a few inches.”

     “Ariel, don’t you think you are over-acting a bit?”

     “Maybe,” she answered and opened the refrigerator door.  Ariel couldn’t keep her mind on breakfast. She was trying to remember where the local police station was at. She pulled out a carton of eggs and some pre-cooked bacon. I guess this will do she said to herself, and set  them on  the counter.

     “Hey, need some help in there?” Mark rose from the sofa and headed for the kitchen.

     “Please, Joe. Just let me make the breakfast. It’s like you are trying to smother me. I need a little space.”

     Ariel’s thoughts drifted off to a little motel nestled on a beach on the other side of town.  It looked very private. Maybe I should check in there for a couple of days, she thought. Just till I figure out what is going on.

     “Easy Ariel,” Joe felt hurt. “I am just trying to look after my best friend’s little sister. Don’t you think he would want me to?”

     “Well,” Ariel said. “Let’s go ahead and eat breakfast. Then, I am going shopping and maybe a spa visit would be great.  I will call you this evening, ok? I really need some time alone.”

      They finished breakfast, and Joe did the dishes even though Ariel said to just leave them.  They left at  the same time, but, parted ways at the driveway.

     Ariel’s house phone was ringing, but she was to far away already to hear it. Her brother was on the other line.

     “Please pick up,” John said to the answering machine.  “Ariel, please call me as soon as possible.  I have some news about the break in at my apartment that you should know about. Call me on my cell.

Responses

  1. Yeah!!! So glad you are back at this one!!! I missed it alot! Can’t wait for the childrens book!


Leave a Reply

Categories

