Posted by: storywriter45 | May 19, 2010

SHE TRIED NOT TO REMEMBER THE NIGHTMARE

Finally, it is off to the coffee table with the laptop and a cup of coffee.  I am loving this beautiful weather today. I feel so alive and a part of everything when I can spend time outside without freezing or getting soaked. Well, I guess those things make you feel alive as well, but in a less pleasing way. It won’t be long before the grand-children are on summer vacation. Oh my valued quiet time will be hard to find. Maybe I should check into summer camps.

At last, Joe went off  to the guest bedroom to get some sleep.  Maybe I can get some sleep as well, Ariel said to herself, and headed off to her bedroom.  She slipped into a modest gown and slid under the big puffy quilt and closed her eyes. She was so tired.

Ariel managed to sleep a little, just enough to get her to the dream state where she was plagued with a nightmare. She woke to her heart pounding and sweat dripping from her entire body. She shrugged and tried not to remember the nightmare. She just wanted to sleep. But, fear invaded her thoughts and she couldn’t relax. She kept questioning the events of the day. Did Mark break into her home while she and Joe were at the beach, or, was it Joe in an attempt to frighten her.

“I wish John  were here. He would know what to do. Well, it was certainly too late to call him. She tossed and turned for a couple of hours before giving up and deciding to go into the living room and turn on the t.v.

“Ariel,” Joe called out. “Are you ok?” He got dressed and went into the living room.

“You look awful,” he said. “What’s wrong?”

“I just can’t sleep, Joe. I keep thinking about the back door and”

“You probably just left it open and don’t remember,” he interrupted her. “I am sure you are just over-reacting.” He reached over and grasped her small hand and held it close to his heart. “Really, Ariel. Don’t worry. I am here. I won’t let anything happen to you. I promise.”

“It’s not just the door,” she retorted. “I saw someone running outside the window just before you came. I can’t help it, I am frightened.”

“You know,” Joe started and then hesitated. “It must be your ex-boyfriend. Who else would break into your house and not steal anything?”

“You know, Joe, he’s not really like that. I’ve known him for quite a while and never saw any behavior that would make me be afraid of him,” Ariel said as she pulled her hand from his. She looked up at his sheepish smile planted on that handsome face and tried to reassure herself. After all, she had known Joe for a long time too.

Leave a Reply

Categories

