Posted by: storywriter45 | May 18, 2010

YOU CAN STAY THE NIGHT

Well it’s raining again and cold. So, it’s off  to the coffee table with the laptop and a cup of coffee.  I love this time of day. It’s time to write and escape the drama of the day!

Ariel looked Joe straight in the eye. “I guess it will be ok. You can stay the night, in the guest room.”

Well, I have known him for years Ariel thought to herself.

“I’ll start dinner,” Ariel said. “You can make yourself at home. Take a shower if you like.”

“Do you think you will be ok for a little while?” Joe asked her. “I  should go back to my hotel room and shower and get a few things.”

“Well, I guess so,” Ariel said. She felt a little stab of fear invade her chest as she headed off to make sure all the doors and windows were locked.

“I’ll be back before you know it,” Joe said and hurried out the door.

Ariel tried to busy herself with dinner. Every sound was magnified. She even thought she could hear her own heartbeat.

Ariel decided to take a shower herself. Maybe it would relax me, she thought and grabbed a towel. She stepped into the bathroom and started to shut the door. A loud pounding sound startled her just as she began dis-robing. She threw her clothes back on and ran into the living room just in time to see a shadow move across the large picture window. Ariel screamed, but there was no one there to hear her. “Joe, where are you,” she said out loud.

The front door opened and in popped Joe. “Hey there. How are we doing?”

“Joe. Was that you in front of the window a moment ago? You scared me half to death.”

“That wasn’t me. What are you talking about.”

“Right before you came in, someone pounded on the window and ran by. If it wasn’t you, you must have seen who it was.”

“I didn’t see anyone. Now, why would I do that? I’m here to protect you, after all.”

Ariel just stared at him. Was he trying to protect her, or, did he set her up? Maybe he unlocked the door this morning just to make her afraid. Ariel never though her ex boyfriend was the type to stalk her. It was all so confusing. She didn’t know who to trust.

“Oh come on, Ariel,” Joe was irritated. You can’t think I would do something like that. We have known each other for years!”

“Of course not,” Ariel answered him. But, she wasn’t really sure. Her brother never really trusted him and it was his friend. All Ariel knew is that she didn’t want to be alone. “You can put your things in the guest bedroom.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

