Posted by: storywriter45 | March 8, 2010

License Plate Number

     So it’s off to the table with a cup of coffee and the laptop.  Ok, it’s here at  the  table with the cup of coffee and the laptop.  Ok, it’s here at the table with a cup of coffee and the laptop…something’s missing.  Oh it’s the noise and chaos of five grandchildren running around playing, hubby calling me into the livingroom to see some ad of an item he will never purchase, and the phone ringing.  I don’t know what to do with all this quiet.  I really love the weekends with everyone here, but, Monday mornings of silence are amazing too!  Even the dog is quiet, laying on the sofa watching me type. 

     With each cup of morning coffee, I miss my mother more.  That was our thing.  Coffee.  And the last few years we still had her, it had to be Dunkin coffee.  She loved her Dunkin coffee with triple cream.  Can you imagine, triple cream.  But then, I like a lot of sugar in mine.  I have to blame Mom for that one.  She used to put coffee with cream and sugar into my little porcelain tea set.  Thank goodness for artificial sweeteners.  I would really be in trouble otherwise.

Back to Ariel:

     “Mark, I really want you to leave before my brother gets here.  I don’t want anything to spoil his vacation.”

     “Well, that’s a nice thing to say.  What do you mean?  How would I spoil his vacation?”  Mark walked toward Ariel in a menacing manner and raised his voice.  “Haven’t you punished me enough?  I told you I was sorry.  What else do you want?”

     “Mark, I accepted your apology the first time you made it.  This isn’t about an apology any more.  I told you, it’s over.  Please, let go.  I want to be on my own and explore my painting.  I don’t want anyone in my life right now.”

     “You don’t want anyone in your life.  Well, who is this Joe guy.  It seems he is in your life.”

     “I am not going to repeat myself.  Get out of here, or I am going to call the police.  Don’t ever come near me again.”  Ariel backed up from him and headed for the phone, her whole body trembling out of control.  Tears were welling up in her eyes as she tried to phone the police.

     “I’m going, Ariel,” Mark’s voice softened.  “I am not trying to upset you.  I don’t think it is fair for you to dismiss our relationship without considering my feelings.  You know I am crazy about you.”  Mark headed for  the door turning one more time to look at Ariel.  He slowly lookedrup and down her tall thin frame as if painting a memory, and then reached for the door.  “You know how to get a hold of me.  I’ll be close by, but, don’t worry. I won’t come near you unless you ask me to.”

     Ariel put the phone down and watched him back out of the driveway.  Close by, she thought.  That doesn’t exactly make me feel comfortable.  She took notice of the small red rental car he was driving.  A small vibe with the license plate…oh damn, she couldn’t see it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

