Posted by: storywriter45 | March 3, 2010

The Morning Visitor

     To the table then with a cup of coffee and the laptop.  Well, guess I better clean it off first.  It’s nice to have everything perfect in order to get started writing, but, not necessary.  I will look for no excuses to procrastinate.  The day is already filled with contradictions.  The sun is bursting through with great intensity and warming my face.  Yet, the snow lay on ground having lost the luster of the clean bright white blanke that covered the lawn.   A friends crocuses are peeking through the snow while her friend hails the coming of dead skunks in the road as the herald of Spring.  I vote for crocuses!

     Ariel woke up early and feeling tense.  It’s just the anticipation of my brothers visit, she thought.  I will just get busy with breakfast.  He should arrive about the time I am finished.  She climbed into the shower feeling the heaviness of too little sleep and turned on the water.  The warm shower gently massaged her achy muscles as it trickled down her long lean body.  Relaxation was finally, gently washing over her when she heard someone knock on the door.  She reached for a towel and then her robe and went to peer out the window to see who it was.

     Mark!  What is he doing here she asked herself and then pondered whether to open the door or not.  “Well, I might as well get rid of him before John gets here,” she said out loud as she flung the door open.

     “What are you doing here?  I thought we settled this yesterday.  I can’t believe you are back here.”  Ariel grabbed her robe and pulled it close to her as she noticed Mark’s eyes settle on her somewhat bare chest.

     “You may have thought you settled it,” he answered.  Mark stuck his foot in the door and tried to manuever his way into her living room.  “Ariel, you know I still have feelings for you.  And, I am worried about this joker who says that he is your brother’s friend.  I think I will hang around at least until your brother gets here.”

     “I have made it clear, Mark.  It’s over.  I don’t want to see you anymore.  And as for Joe, I told you John and I have known him for years.  He is not the one who poses a threat.  I can’t say the same about you!  You are making me very uncomfortable skulking around my house and not leaving when you are asked to”

    Mark, tilting his head, looked her up and down with a keen eye.  “I see.  He spent the night here, didn’t he?  That’s why you want me to leave.  I can’t believe it.  How could you do this to me?  Where is that joker?  I want to tell him off for taking advantage of you when you are vulnerable.  Don’t you see, Ariel?  He is trying to make his move on you because we are quarreling.”

     “Now wait a minute,” Ariel was yelling.  “You have no right to tell me who I can see.  I told you it’s over forever.  We are not quarreling.  Please leave!” 

     Ariel could feel the tears welling up in her eyes as she tried to shut the door on him.

Leave a Reply

Categories

